How to permanently delete a Wix site

By David Nge • Last Updated: June 23, 2022

Here's a step-by-step guide (with screenshots) on how to delete your Wix site. You can either move your site to trash (which you can recover) or you can permanently delete the site from your Wix account.

In summary, we'll go over:

By the end of this tutorial, you'll have successfully deleted your site from your Wix account.

Let's dive right in.

How to delete your Wix site

First, login to your Wix dashboard. Then hover to the site that you want to delete and click Site Actions.

Hover over the site to delete and select Site Actions
Hover over the site to delete and select Site Actions

Select Move to Trash to remove the site from your dashboard.

Move the site to trash
Move the site to trash

In the confirmation pop-up, select Move to Trash.  Once you moved the site to trash, your site will be unpublished and you can no longer edit the site.

Confirm moving the site to trash
Confirm moving the site to trash

While your site sits in the Trash, you can still recover it. To permanently delete your site from Wix, we'll have to delete the site from the trash as well.

Click on the Trash icon.

Head to the trash
Head to the trash

Hover over to the site that you want to delete, and select Site Actions.

Select the Site Actions for the site in your trash
Select the Site Actions for the site in your trash

From the drop-down menu, select Remove Site.

Remove site from trash to permanently delete it
Remove site from trash to permanently delete it

In the confirmation pop up, click Remove to permanently delete the site from your Wix account.

Confirm deleting the site from your Wix account
Confirm deleting the site from your Wix account 

Important: Once your site is removed from the Trash you will lose all site history and won't be able to restore or edit the site again.

If you'd rather temporarily deactivate your site, then it's best to unpublish your Wix site instead.

How to recover deleted Wix site

You can recover your deleted site as long as it wasn't removed from the Trash.

In your Wix dashboard, select the Trash icon.

Recover the site from trash
Recover the site from trash

Hover over to the site that you want to recover and select Restore.

Click Restore site to recover the site from trash
Click Restore site to recover the site from trash

Then select Restore in the confirmation pop-up to restore your site.

Confirm restoring the site
Confirm restoring the site 

You can then view your recovered site in the dashboard.

How to delete a Wix site on Mobile

If you're looking to delete your Wix site from your mobile phone, then Wix has a handy mobile app (Wix Owner) to help you do that. You can download the mobile app for Android and iOS here.

Once you've downloaded the mobile app, login to your Wix account and select the site list dropdown menu at the top of your screen.

Select the site list drop-down menu from the top
Select the site list drop-down menu from the top 

Then select the three-dot (kebab) menu on the top right.

Select the site list menu from the top corner
Select the site list menu from the top corner

Then select Edit site list.

Select edit site list
Select edit site list

Once you're in the site list, select the three-dot (kebab) menu next to the site that you want to delete.

Select the menu for the site you want to delete
Select the menu for the site you want to delete

Move the site to trash to remove it from your Wix dashboard.

Move the site to trash
Move the site to trash

In the confirmation pop-up, Select MOVE TO TRASH to delete the site.

Confirm moving the site to trash
Confirm moving the site to trash

You have now moved the site to the trash.

To permanently delete the site from your Wix account, you have to remove the site from the trash as well. Select the Trash icon.

Head to the trash in the app
Head to the trash in the app

Select the three-dot (kebab) menu next to the site that you want to delete.

Select the site menu in trash
Select the site menu in trash

You have the option to restore your site here. Otherwise, select Delete to permanently delete your site from your Wix account.

Permanently delete the site from trash
Permanently delete the site from trash

Click the final confirmation message to permanently delete your site. Note that once removed, you will lose all site history and no longer be able to edit or recover the site again.

Confirm deleting your site from your Wix account forever
Confirm deleting your site from your Wix account forever

That's it. You have now removed the Wix site from your mobile phone.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I delete a published Wix site?

Yes, you can delete a published Wix site. Just follow the step-by-step instructions here on how to delete your Wix.

What happens after I've deleted my Wix site?

If you've simply moved your Wix site to Trash, your site will be unpublished and you will no longer be able to edit the site. However, you can still recover the site from trash and be able to edit once again.

If you've removed your site from Trash, you'd have permanently delete the site from your Wix account and you can no longer be able to edit or retrieve your site again.

How do I delete my Wix site?

Follow the step-by-step instructions here to move your site to trash or to permanently delete your site from your Wix account.

How do I permanently delete my Wix site?

You need to first move your site to Trash and remove the site from the Trash as well to permanently delete your Wix site.

Can I delete or remove my Wix site from Google?

To remove your site from Google search results, you have to make your Wix site private.