How to unpublish your Wix site

By David Nge • Last Updated: August 12, 2022

Here's a step-by-step guide (with screenshots) on how to unpublish your Wix site. Unpublishing your site temporarily makes it inaccessible to visitors until you decide to republish it again.

Otherwise, you can choose to permanently delete your site from your Wix account.

In summary, we'll go over:

By the end of this tutorial, you'll have either successfully unpublished your site or taken your site private.

Let's dive right in.

How to unpublish your Wix Site

First, login to your Wix dashboard and select a site to unpublish.

Select a Wix site to edit
Select a Wix site to edit

Then select SettingsWebsite settings.

Head to the settings page
Head to the settings page 
Then head to website settings
Then head to website settings

Click Unpublish at the top of the page.

Hit the unpublish button to unpublish the site
Hit the unpublish button to unpublish the site

Then select Unpublish in the confirmation pop-up box to unpublish the site.

Confirm unpublish the site
Confirm unpublish the site

Your site is now unpublished!

Your site is now unpublished
Your site is now unpublished

What happens when you unpublish your Wix Site

When you unpublish your Wix Site, it is no longer accessible on the world wide web.

Since it's no longer accessible online, when a visitor visits your website, they will see an Error 404 page instead.

Visitors will see an error page when they visit an unpublished site
Visitors will see an error page when they visit an unpublished site

However, unpublishing your site does not mean you have permanently deleted your site. You can still edit your site in the Wix editor and republish it to make it accessible online again if you choose to.

In other words, unpublishing your Wix site temporarily disables it until you choose to republish it again.

Click here if you want to permanently delete your Wix site instead.

How to republish your Wix site

To republish your Wix site,  login to your Wix dashboard again and select a site to edit.

Select a Wix site to republish
Select a Wix site to republish

Select Edit Site to start editing your site.

Select Edit Site to head to the Wix editor
Select Edit Site to head to the Wix editor

You will see the Wix Editor open in a new window. If your site is looking good as it is, hit the Publish button on the top corner.

Hit the Publish button to publish the site
Hit the Publish button to publish the site

It takes a few seconds for Wix to publish your site. Once your site is published you should see see the confirmation message along with the URL to access your site.

Your site is now published
Your site is now published

How to make your Wix site accessible to a select few people

Some times you want to make your site private instead of deactivating it.  A private site won't appear on search engines like Google or Bing, but, it is accessible to users with a direct link.

A few reasons why you might want to make your Wix site private:

As long as you only want to share your site to a select few people, it's a good idea to take your site private before releasing it to the public.

To make a Wix site private, we need to hide your site from search engines.

Before you move along, make sure your site is published, otherwise we won't be able to make it private.

Login to your Wix dashboard once again and select a site to edit.

Select a Wix site to make private
Select a Wix site to make private

Then select Marketing & SEOSEO Tools SEO Settings.

Head to SEO Tools
Head to SEO Tools

Disable the Let search engines index your site toggle to remove your site from Google Search results.

Toggle to prevent search engines from indexing your site and removing it from search results
Toggle to prevent search engines from indexing your site and removing it from search results

Select Hide Site in the confirmation pop up to make your site private.

Confirm to hide your site from search results
Confirm to hide your site from search results

Summary

Unpublishing your Wix site takes it off the world wide web, which means visitors can no longer access your site, your (unpublished) site will return an error page instead.

Note that you can always republish your site whenever you choose to.

However, if you'd rather keep your site private, i.e not searchable on Google or Bing, then it's best to remove your site from Search engines instead.